Welcome to Daviess County, Kentucky!

What's New

Well, I guess if you're here you noticed the site moved! I'm really excited about some sets of information that I'm transcribing for this website, however we really need your submissions. I do not live in Daviess County and although I plan a certain number of trips there, I am not local to conduct research for you.

This website depends on your submissions. If you can't find what you're looking for, submit things to me. If I don't have a link you were looking for, when you find it, send it to me. That's how the website grows.

~ Alice Warner Brosey



Want to get notifications of new additions to this site?
This announcement only list receives a maximum of one message per day from the website, whenever there is an update. This is not a query list or email group. It is announcements only, of site updates and new info.
Name: E-mail:


Daviess County was the 58th county formed in Kentucky, coming into existence on January 14, 1815 from portions of Ohio County. A portion of Daviess County was taken for the formation of Hancock County in 1829, and a small portion was taken for McLean County in 1854. These counties along with Henderson County, Kentucky and Warrick and Spencer Counties, Indiana form Daviess County's borders today.

The first settlers were William Smeathers/Smothers settled at Yellow Banks (now Owensboro) 1797/8 and Valentine Husk at about the same time. There were Indian trails here including the Elizabethtown-Shawneetown Trail. The county was named for Col. Joseph Hamilton Daveiss who was killed at the Battle of Tippecanoe. The courthouse suffered from a fire 5 Jan 1865. The County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1815; probate records; Circuit Clerk has divorce and civil court records.

Daviess County is located in the Western Coal Field Region of Kentucky. The elevation in the county ranges from 347 to 680 feet above sea level. In 1990 the county population was 87,189 in a land area of 462 square miles, an average of 188.7 people per square mile. The county seat is Owensboro.


Visits since 26 Apr 2006
Site Stats 



Daviess County, Kentucky